>Friday Lunch: The Return of Russell’s Corner

Posted: February 18, 2011 in english premier league, mls, super bowl
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

>

By Russell Jordan

 

First big announcement:

 

I have followed in the footsteps of fellow TSL writer Nick Gallaudet and am now officially a DIE HARD FAN of the PORTLAND TIMBERS. Sal Zizzo and Kenny Cooper may or may not have affected this decision.

 

So I took a bit of a vacation from my opinion posts. The “why” is not important, the point is your boy is back and he’s better than ever.

A lot has happened sense my last post, mainly the Super Bowl. Arguably, the worst Super Bowl that could have happened for me personally. The Steelers, who destroyed my Cowboys in the 70s, and the Packers who destroyed my Cowboys in the 60’s, and in Week 9 of this NFL season matched up.

 

Here are my Super Bowl thoughts:

  • Alex Smith stole Ben Roethlisberger’s jersey and suited up for the Steelers.

 

  • Christina Aguilera hates America.christina-aguilera-national-anthem-super-bowl
  • Flozell Adams is terrible.

 

  • Although the game ended close, it doesn’t come close to a “great” Super Bowl, Pack controlled the game, nuff said.

 

  • The Green and Yellow remix by Lil’ Wayne was terrible, but he did predict Aaron Rodgers would win MVP, so I must say, Lil’ Wayne looks like an alien.

 

  • I somehow lost more respect for A-Rod, he now sits at negative 1,345,376,347,498,303,452,921 respect.

 

  • There is a slight possibility Aaron Rodgers is better than Tony Romo.

 

In other news, Grant Wahl announced today that he is running for FIFA president. I for one am all for it. In fact, I don’t really know who could be against it. In a brilliantly made video, Wahl promised to cure the current “Blatter Infection” that FIFA has been stricken with for 13 years. Not only should Wahl win, but he will win. That’s right: I am officially predicting that Grant Wahl will in fact win and be the next FIFA president.

 

So one last time, lets sing it.

 

HE’S SEPP, HE’S ROUND, HE BOUNCES OF THE GROUND, SEPPY BLATTS, SEPPY BLATTS.

 

No EPL this weekend but I will be starting weekly predictions once the games start back up.

 

Shout out to Arsenal. I hate them but they had one hell of a game against Barcalona and came back from a 1-0 deficit at half time to win 2-1. Robin Van Persie’s goal was pure class… TAKE SOME NOTES, DZEKO.

 

Until next week, my faithful readers, I leave you with my trademark words of wisdom.

 

Fool me once, shame on you, fool me twice, and I will go Gattuso on your head.

Leave a Reply

