>Tuesday Lunch: The Jets are either going to be VERY GOOD…

Posted: April 12, 2010 in nfl
Tags: , , ,

>

…or very bad. I really am not sure yet, but I am leaning towards very good. The Jets now have two true #1 receivers for the first time I can remember for their developing quarterback. Braylon “I like to drop the ball” Edwards and Santonio Holmes should form a receiver tandem that will compete to be the best in the AFC East. Sadly now, this almost guarantees that my mock draft will NOT be 100% perfect (as I have the Jets taking Dez Bryant in the first round). But that’s beside the point. I may/may not fix my draft to reflect the trade. Cause that’s how I roll.

But back to this deal. I commend the Steelers for taking a firm stand on troublemaking individuals on their team. Big Ben Roethlisberger does not get cut off immediately because 1) he is a top five quarterback, 2) the Steelers invested a killer contract into him (+$100 million) 3)he hasn’t done anything that has warranted any action from the league and 4) he’s their franchise. The last one is probably the most important, even though he has been accused of sexual assault twice. If they simply got rid of Roethlisberger without massive compensation, it cripples the franchise for who knows how long. Holmes, despite being a Super Bowl MVP and 1000 yard receiver, had worthy backups to fill his spot (Mike Wallace, and maybe Limas Sweed). Even though Holmes made all but one-two catches on the Super Bowl winning drive, Ben made plenty of moves in the backfield to extend plays, or made the right throws to the right receiver. The backup QBs are average. Dixon looked great until his final mistake in overtime against Baltimore, and is probably the #2 guy there. The Steelers were apparently fed up with Santonio’s off the field actions, and had to cut their ties. The one part that does puzzle me is the price of him. My opinion is that Holmes, being a Super Bowl MVP and being 26, is worth at least a second round pick. A fifth rounder seems so cheap, even if it’s only for 12 games and no-guarantee that he’ll resign after this year.

I know I’m not the first to think of this, but this really was a warning shot at Big Ben, or at least I believe it to be. Roethlisberger just got out possible criminal prosecution for his second rape case, and will probably have to endure another civil one. Since buying the franchise, the Rooney family has been the class of NFL owners. They play by their rules, and do what they think is best for their team, their reputation and the city of Pittsburgh. While this offseason is the first uncapped one, the front office established a self-imposed salary cap to avoid the temptation of overspending on players. This is what I think the Rooney’s are trying to say: stop going after girls way younger than you (like someone I used to know…) and hold onto some responsibility. Pittsburgh immediately embraced Ben in his rookie year, and controls the direction of the team as its quarterback. I’ll put money on Ben getting the message, and the Steelers actually doing better than last season.

Rex Ryan has what Bill Raftery calls “onions”. He is not afraid to get players that others seem “volatile” or a coach’s worst nightmare. Reminds me of this guy… Anyways. Ryan has made a great squad that could perform very well for him, or backfire. Cromartie has many domestic issues, Holmes has issues I’ve mentioned before and Edwards has had his issues in Cleveland. There could be a number of things that can happen to New York, but I have a feeling that the Jets will be very good next year. We’ll see how it turns out in a few months. Until then, expect bigger columns when stuff starts picking up in the NFL, aka around the draft. See you next week, where I’ll either be very happy (Broncos keep B Marsh or deal him for a first rounder) or very sad (Broncos keep B Marsh and trade him for less than a first rounder)!

Leave a Reply

