>Monday Lunch: Eduuuuuuuuuuuuuuu

Posted: April 5, 2010 in mls
Tags: , ,

>

I must say this was certainly an interesting weekend, both for MLS and abroad. Before I get to my MLS recap I have a few things. First off this will likely be my only article this week as I have a lot going on this week. Second, Maurice Edu is a boss. The man has scored four career goals for Rangers in 25 games; a respectable rate. The thing I love about him though is that all of those four goals have been game winners, and Rangers has won each of those games by one. Essentially Edu has given Rangers 12 points in 25 games that they possibly wouldn’t have gotten without him. I found this impressive. Here is the goal he scored this weekend in a 1-0 win.


 

The Marco Etcheverry Award(Pass of the Week):There is no way that I can’t give this to Sean Franklin for his perfect ball right on to Buddle’s head.

The Wells Thompson Award (Worst Player of the Week):I have to throw a bone to my broseph Will Robinson for nominating the player who wins this week’s award before I even got a chance to watch the game. Jámison Olave single handedly lost the game for Real Salt Lake this week. People can complain all they want about either of penalties he gave up, but you just can’t do what he did. I tell the kids I coach that even if you aren’t fouling someone, you can’t put yourself in a position in the box for the ref to even think that you are fouling someone. You certainly can’t run over someone from behind or go to ground after getting burned by the fattest player in MLS history. What a terrible performance. He was lucky he wasn’t sent off.

The Josh Wolff Award(Worst Goal of the Week):There weren’t any really terrible goals this weekend, so just pick one of the FOUR penalties given as your worst goal of the week.

 

With week two ending, now seems as good of a time as any to start posting the standings for the Golden Boot. I will put my pick (Juan Pablo Angel) in bold for each week.

  1. Edson Buddle 2GP 3G 0A

    Javier Morales 2GP 3G 0A

  2. 3. Brad Davis 2GP 2G 0A

    Kenny Mansally 2GP 2G 0A

      384. Juan Pablo Angel 2GP…..0G….0A

Because I won’t be writing on Thursday, I have my picks for this week in MLS: Last week 1-4 Overall 6-7

Saturday April 10th

Philadelphia Union 0 DC United 0

Neither of these teams can score.

 

Chivas USA 0 New York Red Bulls 2

New York has looked excellent and Chivas the opposite. Even though New York is away, they just look too solid all-around to lose this game.

 

New England Revolution 2 Toronto FC 1

New England didn’t look great last week but I have a feeling that they will find a way to win their home opener.

 

FC Dallas 2 Columbus Crew 2

I really wanted to pick Dallas with the upset here, but I think the Crew are the best team in the league and a road point should suffice for them. Steven Lenhart is going to give the Dallas defense a tough time.

 

Houston Dynamo 0 LA Galaxy 1

The Houston offense hasn’t looked good this year and the Galaxy have possibly the best defense in the league. I think they can steal 3 points on the road with another inspiring performance from Edson Buddle.

 

Kansas City Wizards 2 Colorado Rapids 1

I honestly have no clue what is going to happen in this game and I’ll leave it at that.

 

Chicago Fire 4 San Jose 0

If San Jose allows three goals to RSL at home how do they stand a chance against Brian McBride?

 

Real Salt Lake 2 Seattle Sounders FC 0

There is no way that RSL is losing its home opener and Seattle’s scoring woes will continue.

 

Undefeated teams left:

New York

Columbus

Dallas

Houston

LA

Kansas City

Colorado

 

That’s all for this week, make sure to tune in Thursday when Clint Dempsey and Fulham FC take a 2-1 lead to Wolfsburg in the Europa League quarterfinals which will be arguably their most important game…EVER.

Leave a Reply

